Biscuits: Comfort or Curse?


What is so comforting about food? I’m sitting here with a cup of tea and a tin of biscuits beside me, while my husband is annoyingly playing sports on the Wii. The answer to all problems lie at the bottom of the biscuit tin and it is only by eating the wretched things will the search be over. The thing is I don’t even like some of them. But I still eat them. Just now I have caught myself making plans for a ‘new me’ come Monday morning. Why start late Sunday afternoon? It’s laughable really. As if Monday mornings will make any difference. I’ll probably need comfort to get through the Monday, Tuesday and even Wednesday blues (and I can assure you, they DO exist). By the time Thursday comes along, I might as well wait until Monday morning again.

Looking at my husband’s contented face now he’s finished his daily exercise, I find myself reaching once more for the comfort of the rich tea, the chocolate chip, the chocolate digestive and even more dangerously: the custard cream. What’s more I feel even worse taking advantage of food so much when there are those who are hungry from Haiti to the homeless man outside my local supermarket.

Between you and me, I have set myself a challenge. I will steer clear of the biscuit tin (both at home and at work), exercise 30 minutes everyday after work and will report back next Sunday (or the nearest opportunity with next Sunday being Valentine’s Day)…

Do you think I can do it?

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. justdc
    Feb 08, 2010 @ 01:44:10

    I know so…i’ll be cheering you on!

    Reply

  2. Trackback: Biscuits: Comfort or Curse? The Results. « Alphabet Games

Leave a Reply

