Trust me: I’m an Auntie…


My six-year-old niece loves me all the way to France and back again.

She also knows just what to say to melt my heart.

She and I have always had a strong and close relationship and I want to take time now to pay tribute to the Auntie:Niece dynamic. It is a strange one but one that is not beaten. I have never enjoyed anything more than being an Auntie (and Godmother) for the past six years.

Since my niece’s birth, two nephews have followed. One of whom is  her brother and my Godson. Although I love my nephews greatly, I don’t think anyone will ever take my niece’s place. She is the person who gave me reason not to worry whether I’ll be a good mother. She has in fact taught me how to be a mother before I have actually become one. She has given me a reason to smile through my dark days in the beautiful way that children do. She has even walked me up the aisle on my wedding day.

There is something very special about being an Auntie. An Auntie is an honorary mother figure and I feel privileged to be called the ‘Second Mummy’. My nephews have also taught me that love really has no limits. Your heart does grow to accommodate the people who enter your lives. For me, nothing can beat sitting in a Wendy House with my knees to my chin and drinking tea with my 2 year old nephew, even if it is below freezing outside. I have thoroughly enjoyed watching my niece and nephews grow into their little characters and although I pride myself on my hands on approach to ‘Auntiehood’ and ‘Godmotherhood’, there will always however be that silent boundary. Although many may view this as a negative thing, I have been able to take a step back and watch them grow, more so than I believe their parents have been able to.  In the words of the Spanish proverb: “Only an Aunt can give hugs like a mother, can keep secrets like a sister, and share love like a friend.” It is the best thing in the world!

More importantly, not many people can say they are loved to France and back!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. cr
    Feb 18, 2010 @ 16:28:06

    Yes we read it together. I am an auntie but I have never been lucky enough to have the special bond that you share with your niece, with my nieces and nephew. However I consider myself lucky to witness the bond you share.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

