Five Years On: The Murder of British Life


I wonder how many people could pick this picture out as one of the iconic images of that day, five years ago. I am responding to a Metro article I read while traveling to work on the underground like those 52  (murdered), innocent citizens, five years ago. I am appalled that David Cameron refused to publicly mark the anniversary by simply laying a wreath. Yet after September 11th, we all held a two minutes silence and the Queen’s guards even played the American anthem in solidarity for our ‘allies’. What is it that make the lives of those who died on 7th July 2005 less worthy than those of September 11th 2001? Is it because 2,976  people died in 2001. If so,  what makes and indeed who determines a  single life more worthy than another?

I have visited America on several occasions and what I admire about their chosen way of life is that they are proud of their  heritage. They sing their national anthem in schools, in homes. They proudly display their flags in the streets. I recently spoke with a relative who lives in Canada and whom was very surprised I shamefully barely know my national anthem:

“Didn’t you sing it in school?” he asked.

“No”, I replied.

“Why”?

As a country we have always put others before ourselves of which I am very proud, but now I fear enough is enough. If we do not value our own citizens who else will? On 7th July 2005, not only were 52 innocent people murdered, but our innocent way of life too.

A year after July 7th, I was travelling home from work and coincidentally was travelling through Aldgate when the tube came to a standstill. In true British style, we all waiting for a considerably long time (with no complaints) until a staff of the underground announced we will need to vacate the station at the nearest exit due to a mysterious package having been found. We did so and calmly. Upon leaving the station we bombarded the station staff with directions to our various destinations and they kindly gave us directions to the local bus stops. If I said you could hear a pin drop in all that confusion, you would not believe me. But it was true. Instead we calmly waited outside the station until it re-opened, or people chose to walk and shared their A-Z maps with one another. Although it was thankfully a false alarm or did not culminate in a similar outcome to five years ago, I very much enjoyed sharing that British spirit with those around me. And that is what I hope will never be killed. They may attack our citizens, they may attack our cities, they may attack our way of life but they will never break our British spirit. 

 

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. ER
    Jul 08, 2010 @ 14:08:52

    A very thought provoking piece. You are very right and its nice to see it put into words like that. Thank you once again for an insight into your way of thinking!!!!!! X

    Reply

  2. grandmac
    Jul 08, 2010 @ 15:17:14

    Did Cameron refuse to lay a wreath or was he not asked? I do agree with you in some ways but am not sure that we need to commemorate the anniversary every year. A permanent memorial has been erected I think and that is very right and fitting, but I don’t think it needs a “celebrity” to visit it on July 7th. I can and do remember the date silently and I am sure many others do too.

    But you are right, they won’t break the British spirit!

    Reply

  3. alphabetgames
    Jul 08, 2010 @ 15:24:17

    Thank you for your comment. I think the anger is due to the fact it was the 5th anniversary and yet it was not commemorated. In the article included, families of those who died stated that exact fact.

    In my opinion, it does not matter whether Cameron was asked, he should have volunteerd or nominated a representative on his behalf. Our politicians are willing to stand ‘shoulder to shoulder’ with ‘allies’ yet not against us, their subjects, their own people.

    I hope many people remembered 7th July in their own way, because if you, I and others do not – it will definitely be forgotten.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

