The Chocolate Fix vs. Reality.


Something amazing has happened. I have lost the desire for Maltesers. Perhaps the Canadian version are not made in quite the same way but the packet I recently (willingly) consumed did not give me as much delight as hoped. Perhaps it was just the home comforts I craved more than the chocolate.

Perhaps I craved something to fill the hole that is growing inside me. The hollow empty feeling I feel in an alien world. The constant negotiations between cultures. The not knowing whether I should be meek and mild or to speak my mind. The constant fight to reach common ground and to always maintain the righteous level of mind.

I thought being miles away from the trials of the workplace I will find rest, relaxation and a ticket away from worry. I guess it is the human prerogative to always have something to worry about. Soon enough I will feel numb about this matter and will move on to the next. Except they will never go away. They always creep up on you when your back is turned. How can you be surrounded by people and yet feel so lonely? How can you make complete sense while simultaneously making no sense at all? How can I stop writing when I still have so much to express?

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. grandmac
    Aug 26, 2010 @ 16:01:18

    negotiating between cultures is always a difficult feat. But sometimes it is necessary to speak your mind to let the other side know that you too have a culture that is deserving of respect. It is not easy and sometimes you can be meek and mild but not always. If something is important to you you should be able to voice your opinion and have it listened to and respected.

    yes even when we have nothing to worry about, we worry about that!!

    Reply

  2. alphabetgames
    Aug 26, 2010 @ 20:51:10

    Sometimes I feel like a Fiddler on the Roof!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

