Heroes Making A Way Through the Water


In response to The Metro article paying tribute to the heroes of our modern wars, I want to pay tribute to my very own war hero. I never met my hero, or at least do not remember meeting him. My hero served in the Royal Navy as a minesweeper in WWII on a ship called the HMS Mary Rose. Unfortunately that is all I know of my hero’s story.

I don’t believe a person needs to die to become a hero. A hero is a person who deals with what is ahead of him with grace and without complaint. I don’t know much about my hero’s life before the war, during or even after the war. I don’t even know the sound of his voice, however I do know he was a quiet man and a supporter of Arsenal football team. He was an admirer of my father’s homeland and a teacher to my father himself.

He may not have lost his life in the war, but every year I wear a poppy I wear it for him. Every year I spend a minute in silence, I think of him. WWII has a face to its name, to its memory, to its legacy. My hero returned to civilian life a father to a daughter he didn’t know. He was not only a husband and a father but my grandpa too. I may not know his story of the war, I may not even know the sound of his voice but I am still, after 29 years proud to be his granddaughter.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. PJ
    Sep 27, 2010 @ 14:03:09

    Beautiful words and I totally agree about not only referring to the martyrs as heroes. I always think war is the most cruel and unfair thing that can happen to people, but when it happens, it’s all down to those people on the ground whose names are not usually well known.

    I found these two pages about the ship:

    http://www.uboat.net/allies/warships/ship/3866.html

    http://www.wordiq.com/definition/HMS_Mary_Rose

    Reply

  2. Ruby slippers
    Sep 27, 2010 @ 16:52:23

    That is beautiful!. x

    Reply

  3. grandmac
    Sep 27, 2010 @ 17:35:41

    This made me cry!

    Reply

  4. alphabetgames
    Sep 28, 2010 @ 08:19:44

    Thank you for your comments and links to the Mary Rose. They were very interesting. War is indeed very cruel and unfair, it does not only affect the people fighting the wars, the countries caught in the fighting but also the families of the brave soldiers, even the unborn generation…

    Reply

  5. Trackback: Remembering the Act of Remembrance « Alphabet Games

Leave a Reply

