My Challenge: The Agony and Ecstasy of Writing


I was told this weekend that the theme of my blog is more a rant than a set of serious thoughts and reflections.  However, in all my previous study and research into the art of writing, the one piece of advice that has echoed through the pages is that I should write what I know.

It’s Monday morning and I’m enduring my daily commute to work. I have a seat by the window and I have often lost myself watching London wake from the weekend. I can not help but gaze through the lit windows and watch people prepare for the week ahead and my mind quickly imagines their life story, comparing it to my own.

—-

I am now on my commute home with another Monday through. I am so grateful for the platform to express myself, whether it is in fact a “rant” against the perceived injustices or unfairness in my life or literary gold (Ha! I wish!) One of my New Year Resolutions was to be more selfish, to do more of what I like; what I enjoy. So, I am going to continue expressing myself in what is sometimes a world that either does not listen to what I have to say or fails to hear.

Writing for me is a thrill. I sat here with my pen poised over my writing pad, ready to lead this post in one direction when unexpectedly the post itself took hold of me and led me along a completely different path. I have recently subscribed to Challenge a Day and my challenge for you is to pick up a pen and paper and write. Do not plan what you will say. Surprise yourself. It’s a great feeling and you never know what you may unlock from within yourself. If you are anything like me and shy away from any form of confrontation, believe me writing is the most peaceful way to rant and rage against the world.

The act of putting pen to paper encourages pause for thought, this in turn makes us think more deeply about life, which helps us regain our equilibrium.  Norbet Platt


4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. annagrassini
    Jan 31, 2011 @ 23:44:02

    It is wonderful to surprise ourselves in our own writing. I have been in a journal writing class recently–I have been astounded by what some of the prompts we have received have led me to write. Your advice to pick up the pen and write is so sound…I will seriously consider taking on your challenge for the next few days!!
    Life is Amazing! Live well.
    Anna Grassini
    http://www.lifeinbalancecoach.com

    Reply

  2. Ruby slippers
    Feb 01, 2011 @ 10:38:08

    Usually when I put pen to paper these days it’s to write a shopping list or put a comment in my childrens homework book exclaiming what wonderful readers they are (even though they haven’t read a single word). Perhaps I will try your advice, I don’t hold out much hope that I will produce anything more than what’s for dinner next Tues but I will do my best.

    Reply

  3. grandmac
    Feb 01, 2011 @ 10:41:36

    I always liked watching people through windows and imagining their lives, and I still do, whether peering into their windows for glimpses, or watching out of mine as they stroll by.
    But now instead of wondering about their lives I find myself giving thanks for mine. Looking through a lighted window and seeing a young family makes me grateful that my family
    have reached the stages they have. Seeing children running past with their parents I give thanks for my healthy beautiful grandchildren. Watching an old couple stroll hand in hand I
    feel a pang of jealousy but can still be so thankful for the good years with my own beloved.
    I think I have wandered away from your theme of “writing” and a “rant”! Surely all writing is a “rant’ of one kind or another. So keep ranting and enjoy it!

    Reply

  4. alphabetgames
    Feb 01, 2011 @ 12:58:40

    Thank you so much for your comments.

    The journal writing class sounds fascinating. I am considering embarking on a writing course but while studying two courses with a full-time job – I fear I am stretching my resources too thinly.

    I used to be highly critical of my ability to write and although I do not claim to be a great writer, I have learnt to value what I do know and what I have experienced. I used to think I had to write reams to be a ‘writer’ but even a few sentences unlocks so much from within you.

    Ruby Slipper’s comment is something that I see all mother’s relating to. Even a few lines on the difficulties of full-time motherhood will give hope and encouragement to those who are struggling and who feel alone in their struggle.

    Thank you Grandmac too for your encouragement, although the eloquent encouragement you did give me bought tears to my eyes. You’re right, all writing is a “rant” in some form or another and the best thing about owning a blog is you can be as annoymous or as public as you wish to be.

    Writing may be agony at times but you can not reach the ecstasy without it. All your comments are so impressive, I can only imagine the ‘blogging gold’ that you all can offer…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

