The Journey to Debate


At the beginning of this year, I joined the Post a Week challenge and so far, I have done reasonably well. This week though I am struggling to complete the challenge. Struggling to do pretty much anything to be honest. Born with Thalassemia Trait, I tend to feel very anaemic at times and unfortunately this is one of those occasions when all I want to do is curl up with my latest ‘friend’. Indeed, ‘ a good book on your shelf is a friend that turns its back on you and remains a friend’ (author unknown).

So, I’ve decided I will sit here with my trusted laptop perched on my lap and see where the words will take me. I must admit since starting this blog over a year ago, I have found a new sense of contentment, a new sense of release. Mostly for the reason that I have been given an outlet to express my thoughts and emotions without either being shot down for acting defensive or  being silenced in fear of a debate.

Debates are healthy, but in a world of sensitivity where we are often too afraid of anything that may alter our balance; we seem to avoid any passionate displays of opinion and debate. I want to give everyone an ongoing forum to debate. Right here. I welcome you all to suggest some topics of debate, I will start the chosen topic of debate based on my own opinions and on research.

I will welcome all comments except those with any form of disrespectful undertones or contain profanities. I look forward to hearing from you all, to sharing our thoughts and opinions and to putting the world to rights like I know we can!

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. grandmac
    Mar 01, 2011 @ 15:22:27

    Its a good idea. I would like to suggest a topic for debate but can’t think of a non-controversial one!

    I’ll keep thinking!

    Reply

  2. Ruby slippers
    Mar 01, 2011 @ 22:56:24

    I have thought of something…….’should children be “tagged” with a micro chip so if they ever get lost or kidnapped they can be found’?

    Perhaps the chip can be removed when they reach 18 so it doesn’t impinge on their human rights?

    As a mother of two young children I would consider having them tagged. But then again, it wouldn’t stop me watching over them like hawk whenever we go anywhere, so is it worth it?

    Reply

  3. alphabetgames
    Mar 03, 2011 @ 09:59:09

    “Tagging” children is a good topic and a good stating point to open our environment for debate. I am researching into the subject and will post my comments, my opinion and my side of the debate soon.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

