The Kindness of Strangers


Most days I feel my ‘life has been way off line’. Earlier this week, however was slightly different. Walking from the office to the tube station at the end of the day, I felt dejected and invisible. I was selective in terms of the music I listened to on my iPod and chose those that reiterated what I was feeling (most notably the one above).

I was relieved to find a seat on the tube and sank into it. I usually bury my head in a book but that day did not even have the energy. I stared at the floor and as the doors opened at a station, I looked up and saw a pregnant woman board the train. I stood up and offered my seat (hoping I was not shouting as one does when listening to music). Although I was happy to stand, the man sitting opposite me stood up and offered me his seat. I thanked him and accepted.

I tell you truthfully, sitting there I had tears in my eyes. After feeling invisible all day, it was so nice and so uplifting to be noticed by somebody, a stranger, someone without a hidden agenda. It was such a small gesture and so insignificant that he probably forgot it two minutes later, but it strengthened my faith in humanity. It felt like he was offering an olive branch after a day at the office. It reminded me that sometimes the world is not such a cold and unfriendly place.

The moral for today my fellow readers is in the words of Plato, to always be kind to others because everyone is facing their own battle.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Ruby slippers
    Apr 07, 2011 @ 13:53:55

    What a nice end to a long day! : ) x

    Reply

  2. The Book Whisperer
    Apr 07, 2011 @ 14:37:27

    That’s such a nice story. I often get tears in my eyes by the little things that people do out of pure kindness. Glad it brightened your day 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

