The Curse of Reality


When you first open your eyes in the morning, what is the first thing that runs through your mind?

My favourite sound apart from the turning pages of a good book is the sound of my fingers dancing across the keys of my laptop. Now, I know Fridays are always tricky days to get through, but yesterday was the worst. It may have been the sun beaming in the sky or that I could no longer stand the mundane dullness that is my job. I have dreams for my future and every morning I wake up and think what I can do that evening to draw those dreams closer to reality. However, every evening I get back home, exhausted and drained. I go to bed annoyed with myself for letting my demons win, I then wake up the following day convinced they will not win. Not today.

I used to cry on a snow day when my school was closed. I used to stay in my school uniform until bedtime, not wanting to take it off. Now as soon as I get home, I can not wait to strip the confines of my work clothes off. I may be able to leave the office by my front door, but it is still under my skin sucking my dreams out of me.

I need to get away from the TV and back on my laptop, bury my head in books and put pen to paper, fingertips to keys. I know what I have to do, but how do actually do it? How do I find the energy to follow my dreams?


Leave a Reply

