In Death We Are Not Alone


I believe that nothing happens by chance.

In two weeks it will be Father’s Day. I always used to make an effort, using that day to spoil my father when really I should have used everyday to do that. I’m sitting here now watching an old video of my first trip to Iran with him and finally can hear his lovely voice once more. Whoever said time heals was lying through their teeth.

I now have another reason to celebrate Father’s Day, albeit on a different date in accordance with a different culture. My father-in-law is staying with us and reminds me so much of my father. Sitting in a local restaurant with him I missed my father so much. I am so happy to be able to keep his culture alive and even his language but it brings with it the added pain that he is not here to enjoy it. While I was thinking and feeling all this, what should be playing while we ate but Michael Jackson: You Are Not Alone. Hearing the words, I felt my father was talking to me and I remembered those times that we would sit side by side and watch the video together.

My Papa was not only my father, he was my brother and my best friend. He was my soulmate. Five years ago, I did not lose just one person, I lost four. When you die, people will know two things about you, the date of your birth and the date of your death, but what some will not know and what is most important is what was in between.

When you are sorrowful look again in your heart, and you shall see that in truth you are weeping for that which has been your delight ~ Kahlil Gibran

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: In Death We Are Not Alone | Kids say :

Leave a Reply

