The Ramblings of Success


Many of my friends wanted to be a nurse, teacher even astronauts. Me? I wanted to be a housewife. When I used to tell people this they would laugh and react as if I didn’t know any better. To me, being a housewife was the most important job in the world. What is the point in flying to the moon  when there is no home to return to?

Being the youngest in the family, I was always on the side of the underdog, wanting to make the unfair, fair and the wrong , right. I studied at university, gained a Masters and worked in a field whereby I can care for others. I had wanted to follow in my mother’s footsteps and be a nurse but I’m the sort who would get too attached to patients, who would not be able to withdraw and concentrate on the job at hand.

In the end, I found myself in an office of an organisation that is known to be successful in helping others, yet not feeling any satisfaction in being there. I have made it no secret that I’m not happy in my job, that I want something more. I know I am not the only one to experience this but it still gets to me. It was by chance that I discovered the salaries of two colleagues. One being the Chief Executive and the other being one who is the same age as me but less academically qualified. Both salaries made my jaw drop. Altruism is never truly selfless. I wonder whether they would be in their jobs if their salaries were not so high.  I used to believe there was innate good in everyone. That if you only did what was right, people would respect you.

That particular day, my husband surprised me by meeting me at work with a beautiful bunch of roses. We went out to dinner, came home, curled up on the settee and watched our favourite programmes. To me that is what success is all about. I may be earning far less than my colleagues but I’m experiencing so much more in my private life.

I sit here in my living room and am surrounded by pictures of my family, for me that is more important than earning money, more important than having someone to talk to at work, to even having respect at work. I may be invisible when I walk though that door each day, but when I come home I feel success. My belief systems may have been crushed to dust but these systems can always be rebuilt, and I’m slowly but surely doing just that. I still believe one person can make a difference,  I still believe I can make that difference, I just believe in a different way. A different path.

I am at my happiest when I’m in the kitchen cooking and providing a home for my loved ones and being surrounded by my family. The moral for today is never let anyone laugh at your dreams. Housewife or astronaut, if it makes you happy go for it. Believe in yourself and never let anyone get you down.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. grandmac
    Jul 19, 2011 @ 14:52:52

    But you are making a difference.
    If you weren’t there the others would not be able to do their jobs. Believe in yourself and your worth. To your family and to the world. If you believe in yourself and value yourself, others will too. Maybe not everyone, but the ones that matter will.

    Reply

  2. alphabetgames
    Jul 20, 2011 @ 08:19:04

    Thank you for your advice. Sometimes it is so hard to see the truth and what is right in front of you. I guess it really is true, ‘you can not expect others to love you until you learn to love yourself’…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

