A Time For Everything


There is nowhere quite like home. Although my mother no longer lives in my childhood home, walking across her threshold still brings with it that same sense of security and peace. Yet, as I sipped my coffee last Saturday morning while staring out at the amazing view, I found myself dwelling on the less pleasant aspects of my life. I learnt this weekend that it is the part of the human condition to always want something better and surely it is not a bad quality to always want more?

As with everything – too much of a good thing can be bad for you. However, in my opinion a little of a bad thing can also be good for you. So, as I sipped my coffee I wallowed in a little self-pity, perhaps a little self loathing that my career life does not match that of which society expects, indeed what I want and expected when I was younger.

Contrary to popular opinion, there is nothing wrong with a little wallowing, a little self-pity because it is only then do you reach for that much-needed dollop of hope and you see that every cloud really does have a silver lining. So do not deny someone the chance to wallow because it is sometimes only then that they can find acceptance with their lot in life, particularly if they feel trapped in their current situation.

The wallowing state may come across as rude but for many they only wallow among people they feel safe to show their true feelings to. I will be honest here and apologise to my loved ones for what it may have seemed on Saturday (and in the past) but I don’t regret it.  I wrote the first draft of this post on Monday and as I finalise the changes before publishing this post, my feeling of hope and optimism has still not left me. Judging from my earlier posts of a similar nature, I don’t blame you for thinking that this current state won’t last long. I can assure you I’m thinking the exact same thing. What is important, however is how I feel NOW as opposed to tomorrow, next week or next month.

I do not want anyone to feel they are alone. People go through so many emotions – just be sure you take some alone time for yourself. Never forget who you are and surround yourself with what makes you feel good. Whether that be your family, your books, your writing, your blog…

Nothing in life is free, including happiness. We have to work for what we want. A dollop of hope and a fair bit of hard work is a great recipe for success. Nobody said you had to be unhappy in your quest for what you expect to be true happiness. There is  no rollercoaster ride if you never climb, and as with all rollercoasters the higher you trek up, the greater the trill when you reach to the top.

It may have taken me half an hour or so but without my wallowing time, I would never have seen the silver lining!

“There is a time for everything, and a season for every activity under heaven: 
a time to be born and a time to die, 
a time to plant and a time to uproot, 
a time to kill and a time to heal, 
a time to tear down and a time to build, 
a time to weep and a time to laugh, 
a time to mourn and a time to dance, 
a time to scatter stones and a time to gather them, 
a time to embrace and a time to refrain, 
a time to search and a time to give up, 
a time to keep and a time to throw away, 
a time to tear and a time to mend, 
a time to be silent and a time to speak, 
a time to love and a time to hate, 
a time for war and a time for peace. 
-Ecclesiastes 3:1-8″ 

“a time to wallow and a time to rise up” (alphabetgames)

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lucy
    Aug 07, 2011 @ 11:08:46

    I absolutely agree with everything you’ve said in this post and couldn’t have put it better myself. A little bit of wallowing is sometimes necessary, and sometimes for me it has kick-started my writing button when it’s been stuck for several days/weeks/even months!

    You’re awesome, lovely girl!

    Reply

  2. Debbie
    Aug 07, 2011 @ 11:12:30

    A dollop of hope…sounds like a tagline of inspiration for a new posting. Thanks!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

