Fantasy Meeting Reality


There is always that worry when you meet the people you admire, the worry that they will not meet your fantasy or your ideals. Not long ago, that exact thing happened to me. I have made no secret of my dream to become a writer. Yet, if I’m honest with you I’ve never felt that ‘oopmh’… until now.

When I met Dorothy Koomson at the Bromley Literary Festival in June, my passion and fire for writing was reignited. Meeting her has filled me with confidence to keep writing, writing what I love rather than what I think people want to read. I met her two months ago now and the feeling has still not left me. I brought a fresh copy of my favourite book Ice Cream Girls for her to sign. Favourite because it broke boundaries, broke my heart before tentatively fixing it together again and had my fingers and eyes glued to its pages from page one (as cliche as that may sound – it’s true).

Canvassing my bookshelves for a ‘friend’ to accompany me on my birthday trip to Paris, I was overjoyed (and shocked) to find I had one Dorothy Koomson book yet to read and what better than The Cupid Effect? A book about finding love and acceptance, not just with other people but with yourself. A story about a young woman who leaves everything behind and follows her heart and hopes to another city and the start of a new life. If I can be so bold as to quote Dorothy in the forward of the book:

‘[It] is essentially a book about having the courage to follow your heart and accepting that the power to change your life is in your hands…it is…about seeing what you would alter and striving to effect that change. Even if it is just a case of changing how you view your current circumstance’.

Meeting Dorothy Koomson literally changed me. I have since made different changes in my life from how I feel about my job, my future and my writing. Each night I try to write, whether it be in my blog or in my own attempt at literary genius, or even as part of writing exercises. Despite the twelve books I am currently reading, I am looking forward to beginning her latest: The Woman He Loved Before next week (wanting to wait while I am on ‘holiday’ babysitting my Godchildren – no prizes in guessing the flavour of my future posts…)

When I met Dorothy, I couldn’t believe how like a ‘groupie’ I was. How nervous I stuttered in asking her to sign Ice Cream Girls. Instantly though she made me feel at ease and as if I was the only one in the room. I don’t think she realised how much of a positive effect she had on me from that day. Dorothy even comments on how she relates most with the Cupid Effect and just like the heroine, Ceri D’Altroy, I am guessing that I am not the only one who finds her life changed for the better after meeting Dorothy.

I just wanted to share this with you and reassure you that sometimes when your fantasy meets reality, it does not necessarily have to mean daggers at dawn. Sometimes, there is a smooth transition between the two – so smooth that you do not always know the difference.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. grandmac
    Aug 12, 2011 @ 10:22:32

    How lovely to have that effect on people. We would all like to have a gift like that.
    Keep up the good work. Writing, but possibly more importantly, the positive feelings. When you are positive life looks better and good things happen.
    Good luck!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

