Death, Life and Laughing


We all have something in common. We are born to die.

When I die I only want to be remembered for certain things. For things that are important to me. I recently read a book that shook me to my core. Lauren Oliver has written a divine piece of work that made me think what I really want to be remembered for. After finishing the book earlier last week, I was suddenly attacked by such a strong feeling of fear. Fear of not seeing my loved ones again, fear of how I would be remembered. Did I tell them I loved them enough? Did I take time to really see them, to notice them? Did I make their lives easier even if it meant making mine a bit harder? My New Year’s resolution is to do just that, and I am going to start now.

The book was so innocently written, it was heart-breaking. It got me thinking that if I was to die on my way home tonight, how would I be remembered? What would my last words have been to my loved ones? Would they be words of love? Annoyance? Impatience? Frustration?

Samantha Kingston had six chances to change the lasting memory her family and friends had of her. It is very unlikely that we will ever get that chance and personally I don’t ever want it to be too late. What if you really only had one day to live? What would you do differently?

I would strongly recommend you read this book. Although, we know the ending before the end of the first page, I always hoped that Samantha would wake up and find it really all had been a dream. It is a book written from the point of view of a teenager and deals with issues faced by the young generation today, however there is a part of every character of this book in each one of us (no matter what our individual ages are) and the gripping storyline had me glued throughout the book. As I was reading Sam’s story, I couldn’t help but superimpose my life; my family and my friends onto the characters in the book – making Sam’s experience all the more real.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I seem to have a knack of reading books that raise a lot of emotions within me. To counteract this, I have started reading Michael McIntrye’s autobiography, Life and Laughing. There have been a few occasions where I have near enough embarrassed myself on public transport while failing to suppress laughter. When I look back on my life ten years from now or even on my deathbed, I want to be remembered for being a loving and devoted daughter, sister, auntie, wife (and hopefully mother). I want to be remembered for my loyalty, my compassion. My laughter.

Life may be hard sometimes but if you remember to laugh in between, it’s not too bad. Fortunately we have the likes of Mr. McIntyre to help us along that road!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. grandmac
    Oct 19, 2011 @ 14:54:23

    I haven’t added a comment to your recent blogs but will try to catch up!
    Yes we should all remember to tell our loved ones that they are just that…loved. But its not always easy to voice those words and we assume they know anyway. So I will try to say them a bit more often. And I hope I will be remembered with laughter and for my patience!!!!!
    Keep up the good work!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

