A Little Christmas Thought


What is it about Christmas that turns adults back into children? It is now 8 days until Christmas and I remind myself of a seven-year old me. There is now a big tree in my living room with colourful baubles hanging from its branches. We have yet to decorate the rest of the house but my spare bedroom is crammed from floor to ceiling with presents (a slight exaggeration but not much).

I don’t know why I’m more excited about Christmas this year than other years. Maybe it’s because it will probably be our last in my mother’s house. We are a growing family and sharing one bathroom between 10 people is becoming a little cumbersome. I love the house where my mother lives. It used to be my home and I always feel so complete when I go back there with memories of my mother and I living there together and memories of my father more or less building it from scratch for her. It’s a very special home.

I will be sharing the beautiful 3 bedroom bungalow with seven adults and three children under the age of eight. There will be no doubt that tempers will waver (mine included). Although we may not get on all of the time, we are still family. I have a somewhat scattered family on my father’s side but through the joys of Facebook I am able to keep in touch with some. That is the beauty of family. No matter how far apart you are, no matter how long it has been since you’ve seen one another, you’re still family. Whatever you do, you can not escape that inalienable truth. They are your connection to your past, your present and to your future. Family keeps you grounded, reminds you of who you are and where you have come from.

 

 HAPPY CHRISTMAS EVERYONE!!

 

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. grandmac
    Dec 15, 2011 @ 17:43:20

    Christmas either brings out the best…or…the worst in people. It wouldn’t be the same without a little disagreement or three!

    May YOUR Christmas be filled with joy and 2012 bring all your plans to fruition.

    Reply

  2. alphabetgames
    Dec 18, 2011 @ 19:03:18

    Thank you so much! Yes, you’re right – Christmas is not the same without the bickering!

    I hope your Christmas is everything you have hoped for and 2012 will bring you much love and happiness.

    Reply

  3. Azita
    Dec 21, 2011 @ 16:01:06

    Hi,
    I like the style of your blog!

    I am working for children literature and I love Iranians with style like yourself ;o)
    Happy Yalda!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

