All That You Do Is Love: A Tribute


I have been away for a while now. Christmas has come and gone and although as usual it went by far too quickly, what remains clear in my mind is how the celebrations revolved around one person. We may have had three children under the age of 8 and we may have insisted everything we did was for them, but in truth we were all here for my mother. Long ago I received a blog prompt to tell the motherly figure in my life the effect she has on me and how much I appreciate her. Now I will do just that. I disagree with people when they say your parents can not be your friends. Both my parents have been my closest friends throughout my life and my mother is the glue that is holding us all together.

One of my earliest memories of her was she and I sitting together and she was teaching me to read from prompt cards I now use to help me remember my Farsi vocabulary. It was my mother who taught me the joy and magic of reading and ultimately consciously or not led me to the desire to write. My mother is the sort of person who would drive two hours to take me to a doctor’s appointment, she would travel across the world just so I would not be alone.  She is the sort of person who would buy me something in an instant, someone who never greets me with an empty hand. My mother is the sort of person I want to be when I am granted the blessing of becoming a mother myself.

I have previously written much on my father and if I’m honest, I fear my mother may feel she is often in his shadow. He was an amazing man, a perfect father and my best friend. But in the same way that a father holds a special place in their child’s consciousness – so too does a mother. When I was younger I was asked what I am most proud of and I replied “being my parents’ daughter.” My mother and I did not always get on. For a while we suffered the typical mother/teenager relationship and I often wondered why she and I didn’t have the seeming idyllic relationship she shared with my sister. We once completed a personality quiz more as a joke than anything else and the result surprised me greatly. We were the same. We thought the same and we felt the same. That was a long time ago. Whether it was the result of the test or of my maturity that came with the passing years (probably the latter), my relationship with my mother is now just as I wish it to be.

For thirty years I have been sharing my life with my mother and now, I want to give her 30 reasons (in no particular order) why I never want that to change:

1- she is funny

2- she can laugh at herself

3- she is caring and considerate without being too protective

4- she gives me space and allows me to follow my dreams, even if she doesn’t agree with them

5- she accepted my husband with unconditional open arms

6- she makes divine pizzas and cakes

7- she always seems to have a  greeting card for every occasion

8- she never arrives anywhere empty-handed

9- her door is always open

10-she is always on the other end of the phone

11-we enjoy the same things

12-she taught me how to be a wife

13-she always turns down my bed and even occasionally leaves a chocolate on my pillow when I come to stay

14-she respects me

15-she is a wonderful grandmother

16-she always see the good in people (and has taught me to do the same)

17-she still plays the latest Wii games at the age of 66 and still knows how to make Mario backflip and twirl at the same time

18-she rarely says a bad word about anyone

19-she will always fight my corner

20-she is generous to a fault

21-she loved my father without reserve

22-she still cuddles me now even though I’m 30 years old

23-she hums throughout the day(and in uncomfortable situations) even though she sometimes profusely denies it

24-she suddenly sighs heavily and exclaims: “oh dear” for no clear apparent reason

25-she shares my joy of eating peanut butter or nutella out of the jar

26-her catchphrase of “there but for the grace of God, go I” has taught me to be grateful for what I have

27-she would fall asleep in her chair in front of a television programme but would insist that she was watching it (in just the same way her mother, my grandmother would)

28- she is the only person I know (apart from my grandmother) who asks me to “push the door to” – she never quite finishes that sentence and I still do not know where she wants me to push the door to exactly.

29-she can always find something on the television to watch at 9:00pm

30-because there are countless more reasons why I never want things to change.

In case you have not realised, if you’re reading this – I love you Mummy!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Rubyslippers
    Jan 12, 2012 @ 23:19:28

    A wonderful tribute, beautifully put and heartfelt. Speaking as a mother myself a mother would love to have that written about her by her child. It is such a thankless, unappreciated, relentless job being a mother. What you have written can only be described as stunning!!!

    By the way, the chocolates on the pillow part is a little upsetting, my mother doesn’t do that for me : ) he he he x

    Reply

    • alphabetgames
      Jan 14, 2012 @ 18:04:33

      Thank you very much for your kind comment. I’m so glad you enjoy my writing. I am sure that as your own children grow up, they will also think the same about you, I didn’t always appreciate my mother and her ways (!) but as through my own maturity, I began to realise everything she has done for me and the family. In terms of the chocolates on the pillow, there is still time. I’ll put in a good word.. 😉

      Reply

Leave a Reply

