Learning To Take The Good With The Bad


Friday was a particularly tough day, deadlines loomed and continued to grow and I have to say any of my other colleagues would have crumbled under the pressure. I am proud to say that I have my father’s endurance in such matters. Most of the time I am proud to stand strong and not rise up in answering back to others and yesterday was one of those occasions. I was even taken aback when my colleagues actually said goodbye to me as opposed to simply walking past and ignoring me. As I collapsed on the train home with all my deadlines met single handedly I was desperate to drown in the world created by Susan Lewis.

Alas, I happened to choose the noisiest of carriages, even listening to my iPod louder than normal could not drown the “what to have for dinner tonight” discussions. As I more or less crawled home from the station I found myself stopping to take in the divine smell of freshly cut grass, one of the first signs of spring. I opened the door to my husband running down the stairs to me, and a thick envelope addressed to me in my brother’s handwriting. Having previously discussed music, I expected the new discs he promised to send me. It was not only that but wrapped around them was a lovely card. I don’t often see him as life always seems to get in the way but it was so heart-warming for me to read the easy way in which he wrote. Listening to the mixes reminded me of how he and I would sit together and listen to music. As always, he pins down exactly what I need musically and finds an eclectic sound that moves me to my core.

I barely had time to sit down before I had to leave to have dinner with a friend. Over a deliciously homemade dinner, we moaned about our jobs, bills and shared holiday plans. Working in the same field, it was refreshing to share my misgivings with her and while our better halves discussed the latest IT developments we bonded over tea and chocolates. Tearing ourselves apart at near midnight, me heavy laden with gifts and promising to cat-sit and a repayment of the favour I drove home with no recollection of the days events, of the one man show of meeting deadlines, the exhaustion…

Now, as I write this on Saturday evening still full from the divine Iranian kebab I consumed at lunch and excited for the Iranian New Year in two weeks time, I feel so lucky to be me. To be Iranian despite all the negative rhetoric that currently surrounds us. My life isn’t perfect, my job isn’t perfect but I tell you – the people I surround myself with are certainly perfect for me.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Rubyslippers
    Mar 10, 2012 @ 20:36:08

    I love the way you write, full of honesty and feeling. You are very talented!

    P.s. With regards to the kebab – YUM YUM : ) xx

    Reply

  2. grandmac
    Mar 10, 2012 @ 22:13:23

    Isn’t it nice when something like that happens!
    Good job you liked the music.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

