The Language of Love


I remember in my younger years how I would actually study MTV. I would sit and watch the channel from morning until night. I would know each song and artist by the first chord. Music was my world back then. It still is but very rarely do I experience the hair on the back of my neck rising at a particular song. I do not begrudge the music of today but correct me if I’m wrong, it always seems to be about showing the most flesh in the videos and singing about love, unrequited love, broken love, new love. There is nothing wrong with that, we all go through such feelings at sometime in our lives but surely there is more to our life, more to our story than that? Maybe I am showing my age but I have increasingly become much more restless with music. Very rarely do I turn on the music channel these days and when I do, I’m always remarking “Who??” when the latest pop band plays. I sound like a broken record each time.

I have recently become fascinated by the various names the channels are called now. No longer is it as simple as MTV – I can’t even remember the name of the channel we were watching it seems to be that random. So when Mr. Husband tuned in yesterday morning, I was preparing to tune out. Until this song came on:


Now I understand what the saying: ‘if music be the language of love play on’ really means. Love does not only mean love between people but also love of yourself. We all suffer from self-doubt at some point in our lives.   Thanks to Katy Perry, I now feel like I am wearing a coat of armour. Whenever I catch even traces of self-doubt, I will remember to show people what I am truly worth.

We were all given gifts that are unique to us. We should be proud to let our colours shine, even if they do not match our counterparts. Free yourself from the  harsh reality of self-doubt, of consciousness and be proud of who you are. Ignite your firework and watch your beautiful colours shine.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Rubyslippers
    Apr 08, 2012 @ 19:07:38

    I don’t know that song but I will listen to it on i tunes I am sure it will be a ‘feel good song’. Thank you again for introducing me to something I didn’t know about. Also just wanted you to know I am reading ‘The Woman he loved before’ and so far it’s brilliant. I am enjoying the easy to follow style of writing. Its been a long time since a fiction book has grabbed my attention having read so many non fictions that were outstanding. I never thought I could tolerate fiction again, but maybe I can? I will keep you posted on how I get on.

    Love from Rubyslippers x

    Reply

  2. alphabetgames
    Apr 09, 2012 @ 12:45:22

    So glad you are enjoying The Woman He Loved Before, I have many more books like that and am happy to introduce you to more. Hope you enjoy the music too..

    Reply

Leave a Reply

