My 100th Post: When I Grow Up…


When scouring my blog  prompts looking for inspiration for my 100th blog post, I wanted to write about something that truly strikes a chord with me and something which I have thought about for some time now… or for at least 17 weeks. In 5 months my priorities will completely change. I have to admit that quite often I have worried of what others think of me and although I had previously stopped caring, right now it seems to me more important than ever.

I. Am. Pregnant.

Yep – in 5 months I will have a baby and what is now most important to me, is what my baby will grow up to think of me. I’m doing everything now to build the best home for my child even to the point of considering Godparents before I was even pregnant. I remained in a job that is not ideal, so I was able to provide for them before they were even born. Everyone deep down wishes they could look into the future and see how their lives turn out. Already I worry for the safety of my child and have so much love for the little person I think I am beginning to understand the meaning of unconditional love.

We all want the best of our children, we all want them to be what we never were but yet wanted to be. We all want them to have what we never had but always wanted. So besides from the Mousetrap game, I want my children to have the courage to follow their dreams, no matter how far-fetched they may seem. I want them to be selfish sometimes, to think of and do things for themselves and not always for others. I want them to have the confidence and belief in themselves to speak their minds. Most of all, I want them to be happy and to know that life does not always work out they way they wanted or hoped but that sometimes that is not always a bad thing and other times it is getting through those hard times that make us who we are.

As for me, I want my children to think of me as always there. As someone who is not necessarily all sacrificing but someone who works hard for what she wants. I want my children even at the age of eighteen to look at me and still see their Mummy; their safety. I want to be the Mummy that my children can run to when things go wrong. I want to be the Mummy that will build a home for them that will never leave them. That no matter how far they roam, Mummy’s house will always be home. I don’t want to be a perfect mother and I don’t expect to or even want to do everything right. It is in making mistakes that we learn. What I want is to be the person that they are proud to call Mummy in front of their friends in the playground. I want them to not be ashamed to run to me when I pick them up at University.

These might be a lot of things but to me it’s doesn’t seem too impossible. If you take after your parents in your own parenting style, I have no worries at all, even if I have still to unwrap the coveted Mousetrap game.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Ruby slippers
    Jul 22, 2012 @ 20:09:13

    Well not only will you be getting a new baby for christmas you might finally get that game too????? Better late than never!!!

    Let me congratulate you not only on your 100th blog but also on your pregnancy too! What a lovely thing to be able to reveal on your special anniversary blog!

    Keep enjoying it and thinking those trail of thoughts. You are going to be fantastic!!!!!

    Xxx

    Reply

  2. Fire Fairy
    Jul 22, 2012 @ 20:46:43

    Congratulations! What exciting news! You’ll be a great mother, I am sure of it. I look forward to hearing about, and maybe one day meeting, the little one in due course 🙂

    Reply

  3. grandmac
    Jul 22, 2012 @ 21:17:42

    100 blogs! Goodness that’s a lot.
    I am sure you will be a ‘good’ Mummy.
    And just wait to see what Father Christmas puts in your stocking!

    Reply

  4. Trackback: Thalassemia in Pregnancy « Alphabet Games

Leave a Reply

