The Two Faces of Reality


There has been a lot written on the events of London 2012: the amazing opening ceremony, the excitement of the events, the race to Gold. What has not been written yet and which I can not help but feel envious of is the tourists on holiday, far away from their reality. My husband and I braved the London crowds on Friday (although they were not as dense as I feared) and dined out prior to walking along the South Bank. All the tourists had smiles on their faces, excitedly pointing their cameras towards London landmarks, far away from any sense of reality in their homeland.

I on the other hand had come from work, still carrying my utter disappointment and memories of the tears shed during the day. I rarely stand up against such people, not because of fear but because I believe myself too good for that. I would not want to reduce myself to their level, I want to be the one to keep the peace in a highly volatile environment. Unfortunately, not only does it often fail to work, it leaves an effect on me that lasts for days. The problem is even though I know it will be easier on me, I never change. I don’t think I want to. I am assertive and can fight my corner when the time is right. I just know I’m never going to change opinions, they will think what they want about me either way. I’d rather maintain an air of calm and not create an extra storm.

Most things I do now often leads me to questioning my actions. Wondering whether I would encourage my own children to act in the same way. To be honest. I genuinely don’t know. I would want them to stand their ground but also not to lose their integrity. I would tell them that sometimes it takes a stronger person to stand down in a fight (perceived or not) than it does for someone to raise their fists or their voice.

Last weekend however, I received lovely, unexpected texts and e-mails which made me realise that my reality was not all that bad and which literally propelled me to stronger, more positive ground. My reality may not always be perfect – but then again whose is? I only have to go through the emotional turmoil for a few months longer until I embark on my maternity leave after which I may or may not return to work. In four months time, my whole world will change. I have a wonderful, exciting future ahead of me. It is just sometimes the darker shade of reality over shadows the good side and it takes longer to see the sun between the clouds.

We are naturally programmed to always see the grass as greener on the other side and we are so busy doing so that we fail to see what we have on offer on our own side and most importantly we fail to enjoy it. So, I have made a promise to myself that each time I think negatively or concentrate on the ‘darker’ side of my reality, I will dwell longer on the ‘lighter’ and more positive side. As a friend commented to me over the weekend, I will not look back on my life and be grateful that I let myself suffer or be unhappy unnecessarily. At the risk of using a cliché, my life is really good, if only I let it be.

 

Pictures from Unknown and Realneo

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. grandmac
    Aug 06, 2012 @ 21:24:27

    Sometimes it might be better to show your steely core by making your voice heard and showing that you have that steel in you. It would give you satisfaction if nothing else!

    Reply

  2. Ruby slippers
    Aug 15, 2012 @ 19:12:11

    They say ‘Life is what you make it’, it’s hard to keep that in mind when you are bogged down with what it throws at you from day to day. But there is always someone else out there having a much harder day/time than you. We are lucky to have what we have and your blog has reminded me to keep that in mind. Thank you! Xxx

    Ps Roll on those four months : ) x

    Reply

  3. Barry Brindisi
    Aug 23, 2012 @ 16:37:27

    First, Congrats on getting more than 100 posts. I know from experience, how challenging it can be.

    I can appreciate what your saying. It always seems that somebody else has a more attractive “___”. I leave you to fill in the blank. I’m single and can appreciate what my married friends have. Yet, I do appreciate what my Father has given me.

    If I read your post correctly, it sounds like you have a new baby on the way. If so, Congrats.

    Reply

  4. alphabetgames
    Aug 24, 2012 @ 19:54:15

    Thank you so much and Barry, I admire your outlook. Thank you also for your good wishes, I’m sure future events will inspire my blog journey even further!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

