With A Little Help From My Friends


I finally find myself in the long-sought after position of reading and writing all day long and I have enjoyed testing myself by accepting new writing challenges, one of which I now need your help with.

I have decided to write an informative, pictorial essay on life in Iran that will be downloadable from my blog for free. It may not be a subject close to many people’s hearts and minds but as every writer is told, you need to ‘write what you know’ so that is exactly what I’m doing.

There seems to be a lot of rhetoric about Iran, most of which is negative and most of which from my perspective is largely based on misunderstandings. I plan to conduct thorough research, expand upon my findings with my own first-hand experiences and observations and hopefully provide a different perspective for my readers than they previously have been used to.

This is where you come in. I am inviting you to contact me with your perceptions of Iran via my proofreading e-mail address: lighteronwords@gmail.com or alternatively by commenting on this post. You are more than welcome to contact me anonymously and please feel free to express your true opinions and/or perceptions of Iran. I will not identify anyone in the write-up but would like to grasp a cross-section of understanding from people.

I genuinely really look forward to hearing from you and hope you will share your thoughts on Iran with me. You do not need to be Iranian, know an Iranian or even understand Iran. Just write what is in your mind.

Title image from: Role of Friends in Life 
4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Rubyslippers
    Sep 28, 2012 @ 18:41:25

    To me Iran is a place with a certain smell and atmosphere that is totally different from anywhere else in the world. It is hussle and hussle, lots of cars all beeping at each other and even though there are no set rules on driving eticate there doesn’t seem to be any major accidents.

    It is a place of many family gatherings and big dinners with about four or five different dishes being served in one sitting. Even though there is no abundance of alcohol people still have a wonderful time together.

    It is a place of double sometimes triple kisses when meeting an acquaintance or family member. The women are mostly glamorous with a desire to look ‘well kept’.

    It is a place that has wonderful pastry, cakey, sweet and sticky treats that you can’t get anywhere else.

    Kebabs, black tea and cucumber in yoghurt.

    A place where you hear that middle eastern sound of the calling for prayer from a man in a tower.

    A place where you will usually receive the most wonderful hospitality.

    A place where the men play chess and backgammon in the parks.

    Xxxxxxx

    Reply

  2. grandmac
    Sep 30, 2012 @ 19:13:40

    I agree with all that Ruby Slippers!

    Plus:
    hundreds of orange taxis, usually old Mercedes’ or Paykans!

    huge trees watered by tinkling ‘jubes’ lining the sides of the roads

    buckets of yoghurt with a thick creamy crust on the top

    coloured fluffy chicks on sale

    delicious and huge watermelons being sold from barrows on the street

    policemen holding hands

    whole families plus luggage on a scooter

    I am sure I’ll think of some more!!

    Reply

  3. Rubyslippers
    Sep 30, 2012 @ 19:37:37

    Yes Grandmac you are right. The scooter one particularly strikes a fond memory. I forgot to say in mine the view of the snow topped mountains everywhere you go and also the horrifying realisation when you need to visit the ladies and see only a hole in the floor for a toilet. You never know which will give way first, your knees or your back!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    X

    Reply

  4. alphabetgames
    Oct 08, 2012 @ 08:25:06

    Thank you both of you – very insightful! x

    Reply

Leave a Reply

