An Ode To My Girl


Mother and ChildI love the sound of her breathing. I love the shape of her face. I love the way she clings to my hair when I hold her in my arms. I love how she smiles at me first thing in the morning. I love how no matter what is on my mind and no matter the extent of my worries and troubles she can take them all away in an instant. I love how she makes me want to be a better person. I love how I get to spend everyday with her and sharing in her smiles and even her tears.  I love how her entire hand can wrap itself around my little finger. I love how she makes me miss her when I’m only downstairs. I love how when she is not with me, I find that I am always looking at where she is. I love how she takes my heart with her wherever she goes.

I love how not so long ago I was working in a busy office, dealing with trustees and well-known personalities and now I’m scrubbing clothes, sterilising bottles, changing nappies and crawling on my hands and knees in an attempt to make her smile. I love how everyday is different with her and yet the same. I love how already we are the best team. I love how she brings my loved ones closer. I love how she has changed my outlook on life.

Nothing could be more challenging in my opinion than motherhood. To always regard someone else’s needs above your own. To maintain your sanity when all you seem to be is forever drowning in laundry. It may sound like I am complaining but on the contrary – I never in my wildest dreams imagined motherhood to be as rewarding as it is. I may only be 3 months into it but it has been the best 3 months of my life. I love how she creates so many new challenges yet gives me the strength to overcome each and every challenge.

I love how I now have so much to look forward to with her by my side. I love how I am constantly torn between wanting her to grow and share more with her yet wanting her to stay just as she is.

More than anything I love how she makes me feel.

Mother and Daughter

 

 

Opening Image:  The Telegraph
Final Image: Integral Parenting
2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Rubyslippers
    Mar 25, 2013 @ 17:20:09

    A lovely passage! I relate to them all particularly how you want her to stay as she is,
    but at the same time you want her to grow and change. That never goes! Glad you are loving it! : ) xxxx

    Reply

  2. grandmac
    Mar 27, 2013 @ 17:02:24

    I would like to say it gets better but I think it doesn’t really, it just gets different. This is a lovely time but in 3 months that is a lovely time too, and so it goes on. Enjoy it all!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

