Going Orange For Myeloma Week


Myeloma: a cancer; a disease; a thief
For five years we lived in hope but were left with grief
He could not see my swollen tummy
Nor witness me now growing as a Mummy
 
Myeloma: a cancer of the bone marrow 
It stole my happiness and left me with sorrow
My daughter now carries you in her veins 
And your physical absence suffocates us like chains
 
 Myeloma: you forced us into the arms of Thalidomide
Although the fight he lost was nothing less than dignified
 Before he was stolen he was my Papa, my soul mate, my brother, my friend
He was all those people rolled into one, the perfect blend. 
 
Myeloma: the lesser known of the cancers
Still refuses to give any answers
We were a family of five robbed down to four
None of our picture frames are complete anymore 
 
Still, the thief did not steal a single memory
Nor detract from the man’s sheer bravery
Multiple Myeloma: let’s make some noise 
For all those like him who fight with poise. 
 

AlphabetGames 2013

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Rubyslippers
    Jun 23, 2013 @ 19:42:16

    If only that thief could have targeted someone more deserving!!!! X

    Reply

  2. Trackback: The Fragility of Life | Alphabet Games
  3. Trackback: On The Question of Happiness | Alphabet Games

Leave a Reply

